Managing Your Online Presence


Dear eager to please and desperate to fit in,

I know it is tough for you; I have been there myself. I went through the middle school ambiguities and the high school drama. I made friends and enemies and had to deal with bullies. I wanted to be popular and cool; just like you.

Diary of a Whippy Kid is an excellent example of how always trying to fit in can backfire; sometimes just being yourself is the key.

Beware of what you post on the internet. As a college student looking for potential employment, I have to be concessions of the things I post or say. Although, I might find something innocent and fun, an employer could be astonished. This could result in my unemployment.

There are a few things you can ask yourself before posting information on the web:

  1.  Who will see this?

In other-wards is it marked private or can any old creep look at pictures of me in a swimsuit.

2. Would I show this to my mother/ pastor/ grandmother?

Yes it must pass all three.

3. Is this illegal?

Underage drinking, drug use, confessing that you were drinking and driving on a friend’s post, etc.

Not a good site to like

4. Swearing?

This is inappropriate no matter who sees it. I feel that people who cuss do not have a broad enough vocabulary to think of a better word.

5. Are you cyber bulling?

The famous phrase, “do unto others”. This makes you look negative and insecure; just don’t do it.

6. Why I am I posting this picture, comment, or video?

This is the most important question to ask yourself, WHY? Is it for attention? Are you trying to be cool? If you post a hot enough picture will that guy at school be looking on your profile? This goes back to fitting in. do you want to post a picture of you drinking at a party, so people will think you’re bad.

The next time you consider posting something that might be inappropriate please review the latter questions and think hard about the repercussions.

I was looking for steps for a line dance on You Tube. I type in “country girl shake it line dance” I was shocked with the results. Instead of dance moves I saw videos of so called country girls shaking it. The worst part was that the majority of the country girls that were shaking were too young to have anything to shake. I saw numerous videos of 12-14 year old girls shaking there booties on the internet. I scrolled down to view the comments; I was sickened: “You can shake it for me any time,” “love to take you to the bar,” “I’ll make you shake.”

Definitely don’t look up “drunk chicks line dances”

More than anything I wanted to call those girls’ parents. I wanted to tell those girls that EVERYONE can see that video; sex offenders, their grandparents, principals, and teachers. I lost respect for those girls, and I don’t even know them.

If I saw my child like that on the internet, they would be booted back to the Stone Age. No TV, No cell phone, and NO internet. EVER again!

Having an online presence can be beneficial if it’s managed properly. Being responsible, educated, and polite, should continue on to online life. Social networking can be utilized for job opportunities and great connections. Conversely, it can also be used for kidnapping, sexual assault, bulling, and much more. Being aware of your surroundings and not talking to strangers is more relevant than ever.

Although you may be young, you are smart. You are the future of the online world. What you post will not disappear because you delete it; it will remain long after. So plan ahead, be resourceful. Don’t abuse the internet; yet, don’t neglect its power.

Author:  Ashley S Tyer

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Agriculture, Alligators, & Ad-Libs
    Oct 03, 2011 @ 13:47:25

    Great post!

    Reply

  2. jyll08
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 14:27:02

    I like the approach you took to begin this assignment, cute idea. The examples you gave were great as well!

    Reply

  3. bastubbs
    Oct 06, 2011 @ 17:37:18

    I love the method you took with this blog, quite simple and cuts right to the point. I truly hope our future students will mature and begin to make a difference in the way they are seen online. Afterall, they are the future of our nation. The future physicians, speakers, and military boys- NOT hoodlums running around causing a complete ruckus.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

